Thread: Multi-level categories

User

Default Multi-level categories

Greatings.
    First of all thanx to everyone for such great CMS and extensions. It is awesome.
    For second: sorry for some mistakes in text, that may occure — I'm from Eastern Europe, so I use English rare.
    Third: I'm not very familiar in php. I'm a designer and html/css/javascript coder. Server-side programming is my next step in my self-developement, but not right now...

And the problem:
    I try to make a several-level categories catalog using taxonomy (or there is an other way?)
    Taxonomy tree is like that:
    Supercategory
    ? child category
    ? child category
    ? child category
    Supercategory
    ? child category
    ? child category
    ? child category
    I need to show this categories in such way:
    Code:
    	<div class="w25">
        	<div>
        		<h2>Supercategory_name</h2>
                <ul>[*]child_category_name[*]child_category_name[*]child_category_name[/list]
            </div>
        </div>
        <div class="w25">
        	<div>
        		<h2>Supercategory_name</h2>
                <ul>[*]child_category_name[*]child_category_name[*]child_category_name[/list]
            </div>
        </div>
    For this I'm trying to use Catalog Filter.
    I've tried to use tree view, but it works just if I have two taxonomy-based select-fields in catalog (add supercategory and category manualy, that is not quite good. The best would be, if user adds only category and supercategory gets automaticly, based on taxonomy) and doesn't give such nested constructions..
    I've tried to do something with template, but I can't even understand, how filter renders.. In other modules I see how html generates, but in cause of filter module — it is so complicated... Not for my programming skills..

Can you help? Time is out, deadlines are broken and this problem is very hot

PS