Thread: How to use hooks

User

Default How to use hooks

Hi,
    Guess this is really simple, but if you never have done it before, it sure helps if someone points you in the right direction.

I need to write a custom php-script that fires each time a new frontend member is registered. The values I need to get is: first name, last name and e-mail.

I understand that I need to use the processFormData hook. I have never used hooks before and therefore need a little bit of help. The only information I found is this syntax:

Code:
    // config.php
    $GLOBALS['TL_HOOKS']['processFormData'][] = array('MyClass', 'myProcessFormData');

// MyClass.php
    public function myProcessFormData($arrPost, $arrForm, $arrFiles)
    {
    // Do something
    }
    But from here I don't know where to go. :? Where is the config.php and MyClass.php files that I need to alter? And how do I write the function to get the name and e-mail fields?

Thanks in advance!

Experienced user

Default Re: How to use hooks

Hi Ola,

From someone who was exactly where you are just a few weeks ago, I'd be happy to share what I've learned so far...

First off, it sounds like what you are describing would use the 'createNewUser' hook instead -- it's on the Hooks page of the Website as well, and has a very similar syntax.

I would also read Tru's blog series on writing a custom module. In your case the first part of his series would be useful -- where he creates the file and folder structure of his custom module, and explains the logic behind why those are set up the way they are -- http://blog.qzminski.com/2010/04/create ... -part-one/.

You'd essentially be creating a custom module that has two files:

/system/modules/myCustomModule/config/config.php, Which Contains:
    Code:
    $GLOBALS['TL_HOOKS']['createNewUser'][] = array('myCustomModuleClass', 'myCustomClassMethod');
    /system/modules/myCustomModule/myCustomModuleClass.php, Which Contains:
    Code: