Thread: 110% New Guy

User

Default 110% New Guy

Hello everyone! I'm completely new to TYPOlight/Contao as well as CMSs altogether. I've been thrown into this world by my new career to fend for myself and fight through the countless searching of forums and googling for information. I'm trying to look for some kind of basic step-by-step tutorial to just create a single page of content; I'm talking 1 page, main column, plain text, maybe have the nav.bar available on there and that's it.

I've been playing w/the program... i've created a page, created articles, created elements, added content... setup my theme and templates... but when I hit preview, I get nothing but a blank, white screen. Maybe I'm doing something completely wrong? Plz help =/

I'm using Contao Open Source CMS 2.9.1, and need instruction for Contao and NOT TYPOlight as the interface and functionality is different.

Thanks for your time and help in reading this!

~Mechaflash

User

Default Re: 110% New Guy

Not sure what you say when you need directions for contao (and not TL) because they are supposedly different; they are the same program with minor changes.

Anyway, to do a setup AND get a page with contents perhaps try this one: viewtopic.php?f=8&t=1417

But as far as customizing html/css goes Contao leaves you on your own. I hope you do have CSS experience?

User

Hey thanks for the link. That will definitely help. What I meant by needing help w/contao instead of TL is that I'm a very visual learner... so when the interface is different it screws me up royally. I also learn by doing so not having that being exact hurts my time management with learning this CMS =/ . I have no exp. in CSS and minimal in HTML, but I'm picking up quickly XD. I think I got the gist of building a basic site:
    Create Modules (Themes-Modules)
    Create Stylesheets (Themes-CSS)
    Create Layouts / Add in modules and css (Themes-Page Layouts)
    Create Page / Add layouts (Site Structure-New Page)