Thread: Custom template.

New user

Default Custom template.

Hi.

I'm kinda new to this, and have only done simple html in dreamweaver. But now i got this Contao CMS installed on my server.. And want to get up my custom webdesign on it.. but i got no clue what so ever..

In the admin panel, its says upload template etc.. but yeah..how do i convert my photoshop design, into an template? please help me

// Reinf

User

Default Re: Custom template.

Well, depending on how fast you learn it will take you somewhere between 1 day and say 1 month get this figured out. That also depends on your design.

Step 1....
    Because Dreamweaver is unlikely to generate code that is near enough to the standard Contao code it might be easiest to first build a single page with all the functional elements (menu, content, whatever textual content). Do not worry about how it looks, but get the locations right. (navigation in the header if your design placed it there as well). Keeping that in mind build your basic non-styled website page. You do this by creating a new layout and mark it as the default. Then add modules to it that you can create in the themes part as well. You need at least one navigational module.

Copy the source html that Contao generated when you viewed the finished non-styled page result and safe it somewhere you can use dreamweaver on it. I would use dreamweaver to build your photoshop design into a template if that is all the html you've ever done. You should start editing the html file you saved because this might help in better compatible code after dreamweaver changed the original. Getting this one static html page styled locally on your computer would be step nr 2.