Thread: Advise needed: using modules in template header

User

Default Advise needed: using modules in template header

Hi All,
    As being a Contao rookie I need advise how to add modules in the header area of the site i'm busy with.

Please see the attachment. I have marked the modules with red boxes how i think they should be created.
    The text in the various modules is not fixed in the graph but has to be text form navigation and custom html.

My idea is to create custom modules and place them after the header (opzegdienst logo), which is the first module top left.

any help is appreciated
    thx, frank

Experienced user

Default Re: Advise needed: using modules in template header

Hi there,

Here's a few suggestions, just based off glancing at your diagram. There may be technical reasons you have things broken up they way you do that I don't know about.

I'd put the logo and the navigation next to it directly in the header. Float one left and the other right.

Make the main navigation bar one module instead of 2 -- custom navigation if need be -- and also put it directly in the header. Clear it so it drops below the previous 2 modules.

Instead of breaking up your masthead image, it'd be better to keep it all together. You can use CSS to position your various elements how you see them in the mockup. There are so many ways to do this, and those elements can be so many things, that I can't give you specific ideas on what modules to use. But if you follow the basic principle of keeping it all together, then you only need one column, and thus can add it to your main column.

Then of course your content will also be in the main column.

You have the ability to add custom layout sections, but the more you use Contao you realize you need them less and less.
    Brian

User

Hi Brian,
    thanx !

can you please explain:
    Clear it so it drops below the previous 2 modules.
    thx

Experienced user