Thread: certain FTP is not _required_ for installation?

New user

Default certain FTP is not _required_ for installation?

Hello, all!

The past hour i've been scouring through the docs trying to found out one simple thing: how do i do a manual install of Contao, without the FTP login which install.php demands. (i haven't hosted ftp on one of my machines in 10 years - it's insecure and barbaric.)

i've tried to do a manual install, but:

a) The docs don't say which sql needs to be imported.
    b) The docs reference a sample site db (example_*.sql) which does not exist in the source tree.
    c) The docs tell us the default password but not the default user name.

Is there a doc somewhere explaining how to set up Contao manually? i am a very experience Unix administrator and i'm not afraid to get my hands dirty in config/php/whatever files. i AM, however, afraid of FTP and refuse to host an FTP server just to run a web site.

:-?

----- stephan beal
    http://wanderinghorse.net/home/stephan/

User

Default Re: certain FTP is not _required_ for installation?

Hello,

if the webserver (or more exactly the PHP process) is able to write/change files in the Contao directory you don't need the FTP access. The install tool will not prompt for the if they are not necessary.

Jan
    Free support only here in the forum.
    Please report bugs for my extensions using http://www.contao-forge.org. Thanks!
    Requests for Contao support and development please send mail to jan@theofel.de

New user

Hi!

The PHP process is running as the www user and Contao will (if i can get it installed) be running under my home directory, meaning that Contao does not (and should not) have ANY write access to my filesystem.