Results 1 to 13 of 13

Thread: Problem with update.phar.php

  1. #1
    User zlobec's Avatar
    Join Date
    02-14-14.
    Posts
    34

    Default Problem with update.phar.php

    I'm trying to update from 2.11.17 to 3.5 with Live-Update... And everytime I get a blank page on url /contao/update.phar.php/index.php.

    Contao Check gives all green light. Before I've been able to update fom 2.11.12 to 2.11.17 with Live-Update without problem.

    Managed to get this from the server logs:

    Code:
    [Fri Nov 20 13:11:55 2015] [error] [client 188.230.221.90] PHP Fatal error: Uncaught exception 'PharException' with message 'phar "/var/www/vhosts/hise-vranesic.si/httpdocs/contao/update.phar.php" SHA1 signature could not be verified: broken signature' in /var/www/vhosts/hise-vranesic.si/httpdocs/contao/update.phar.php:22\nStack trace:\n#0 /var/www/vhosts/hise-vranesic.si/httpdocs/contao/update.phar.php(22): Phar::webPhar('update.phar.php', 'index.php', '', Array, 'phar_rewrite')\n#1 {main}\n thrown in /var/www/vhosts/hise-vranesic.si/httpdocs/contao/update.phar.php on line 22

    Thanks.
    Last edited by zlobec; 11/20/2015 at 13:44.

  2. #2
    Community-Moderator xchs's Avatar
    Join Date
    06-19-09.
    Posts
    1,241

    Default

    Hi,

    delete the contao/update.phar.php file and run the Live Update. The file should then be downloaded again.
    Contao Community Moderator
    → Support options

  3. #3
    User zlobec's Avatar
    Join Date
    02-14-14.
    Posts
    34

    Default

    Hi,

    deleted the update.phar.php file... now I just get redirected to url https://update.contao.org/en/ ?!?!

    I also revalidated the installation with the Contao Check... and no errors.

    Any more suggestions?

  4. #4
    Community-Moderator xchs's Avatar
    Join Date
    06-19-09.
    Posts
    1,241

    Default

    It could be that the URL is incorrect when you go through the steps of the Live Update. That is, in some cases the full server path has been displayed in the URL. When exactly will you be redirected to https://update.contao.org/en/ ?
    Contao Community Moderator
    → Support options

  5. #5
    User zlobec's Avatar
    Join Date
    02-14-14.
    Posts
    34

    Default

    Hey,

    the Live Update URL is set for "https://update.contao.org/service/.

    The redirect is immediate after clicking Run the update button. The first POST response from update.contao.org is 301...?

    Is the Live Update URL correct?

  6. #6
    Community-Moderator xchs's Avatar
    Join Date
    06-19-09.
    Posts
    1,241

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by zlobec View Post
    Is the Live Update URL correct?
    Yes.

    Open the "Maintenance" back end module and click on the "Go to the Live Update" button. Which URL is then in the browser's address bar? There should be something like that:

    http://www.example.com/contao/update.phar.php/index.php

    Then, if you click the "Start update" button the URL should get an additional parameter:

    http://www.example.com/contao/update.phar.php/index.php?do=process

    The file "update.phar.php" has been downloaded to the /contao folder?
    Contao Community Moderator
    → Support options

  7. #7
    User zlobec's Avatar
    Join Date
    02-14-14.
    Posts
    34

    Default

    Hey,

    no.. I go directly from this url:

    /contao/main.php?do=maintenance

    to

    http://update.contao.org/service/index.php
    with some POST data... The response is "Reload the page to get source for: http://update.contao.org/service/index.php"

    Then this gives me the 301 redirect to http://update.contao.org/en/

    The update.phar.php is not downloaded. Can I do this manually?

  8. #8
    Community-Moderator xchs's Avatar
    Join Date
    06-19-09.
    Posts
    1,241

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by zlobec View Post
    The update.phar.php is not downloaded. Can I do this manually?
    Hmm, there might be some kind of server restriction that prevent the file from being downloaded.

    Okay, whatever, I've uploaded the update.phar.php file from my Contao installation to a file hosting service: http://www44.zippyshare.com/v/e6XQlvEo/file.html

    You may want to try it again with that file.
    Contao Community Moderator
    → Support options

  9. #9
    User zlobec's Avatar
    Join Date
    02-14-14.
    Posts
    34

    Default

    Hey,

    uploaded the file and tried the Live-Update... still get the same blank page on update.phar.php page and the same error in the server log:

    Code:
    [Sat Nov 21 18:39:14 2015] [error] [client 188.230.221.90] PHP Fatal error: Uncaught exception 'PharException' with message 'phar "/var/www/vhosts/hise-vranesic.si/httpdocs/contao/update.phar.php" SHA1 signature could not be verified: broken signature' in /var/www/vhosts/hise-vranesic.si/httpdocs/contao/update.phar.php:22\nStack trace:\n#0 /var/www/vhosts/hise-vranesic.si/httpdocs/contao/update.phar.php(22): Phar::webPhar('update.phar.php', 'index.php', '', Array, 'phar_rewrite')\n#1 {main}\n thrown in /var/www/vhosts/hise-vranesic.si/httpdocs/contao/update.phar.php on line 22, referer: http://www.hise-vranesic.si/contao/main.php?do=maintenance
    Starting to think there is some other problem, with the server maybe...

  10. #10
    Community-Moderator xchs's Avatar
    Join Date
    06-19-09.
    Posts
    1,241

    Default

    Did you transfer the file in binary mode? There is usually a setting in your FTP client where you can set the transfer mode (ASCII / binary).
    Contao Community Moderator
    → Support options

  11. #11
    User zlobec's Avatar
    Join Date
    02-14-14.
    Posts
    34

    Default

    Hey,

    heh... BINARY upload fixed the problem - update.phar.php now works. Thank you for your help.

    Regard,
    Darjan

  12. #12
    Community-Moderator xchs's Avatar
    Join Date
    06-19-09.
    Posts
    1,241

    Default

    Great! You're welcome.
    Contao Community Moderator
    → Support options

  13. #13
    New user theDyingMountain's Avatar
    Join Date
    06-16-16.
    Posts
    1

    Default

    Great! I had exactly the same problem. Thank you!!!

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •